Veterans Day for a Vet

Veterans Day has been celebrated since 1938 when it was originally known as Armistice Day, named after the armistice of World War I that concluded on November 11th, 1918. After World War II, Armistice Day was changed to Veterans Day so the country could honor veterans from all wars. President Eisenhower proclaimed: “In order to insure proper and widespread observance of this anniversary, all veterans, all veterans organizations, and the entire citizenry will wish to join hands in the common purpose”.

This year, Veterans Day has been a week long event. It started on Saturday with the Portland Trail Blazers hosting Military Appreciation Night during their game with Toronto. The staff at Oregon Partnership was able to obtain two tickets for my wife and me to attend. I was unaware they had planned to acknowledge me during the game. Halfway through the second quarter, the announcers asked the crowd to take a moment to honor a few guests, and the first one was me.

In front of thousands in attendance, my photos were displayed along with a great one of me taking a call on the crisis lines. Then, they expressed how I currently work on the Military helpline and showed me standing at my seat so I could tip my hat to the huge ovation that brought tears to my wife’s eyes.

This Veterans Day, I am able to provide support to fellow veterans on the Military Helpline, 888-HLP-4-VET.  I cannot think of a better way to spend the day.

Veterans Day provides me with an opportunity to feel good about what I’ve accomplished, to appreciate fellow veterans, and the current military, and honor the soldiers who were never able to return home as veterans.

I would like to wish all veterans an outstanding holiday and thank them for their hard work and the sacrifices they have made to protect our way of life.

– Josh

Leave a Reply

