“Hello, my name’s Betty Ford, and I’m an alcoholic and drug addict.”

Former First Lady Betty Ford died this week at the age of 93. Her legacy is one of hope and honesty.

Her candor about her own long-term addiction to prescription painkillers and alcohol in 1978 came at a time when such things were not disclosed due to shame and stigma. Betty Ford’s bravery and transparency opened the doors to healing and redemption for tens of thousands.

Secrets and shame are the twin henchmen of addiction. Betty Ford’s unflinching willingness to unmask them in the bright glare of public attention was a gift to all.

A gift that keeps on giving.

-Tom

One Response to “Hello, my name’s Betty Ford, and I’m an alcoholic and drug addict.”

  1. Betsy says:

    Wow! After all I got a weblog from where I
    know how to truly take valuable information concerning
    my study and knowledge.

Leave a Reply

